Federal Judge Roger Vinson has done as expected and ruled that the individual mandate compelling individual Americans to purchase health insurance is unconstitutional. He has also declared the mandate as not “severable”, meaning it can’t simply be deleted keeping the remainder of the health care reform bill intact. Thus the entire act must be repealed. This is exactly what opponents have been saying prior to it ever becoming law.

So what happens now? With-in the next 30 days the Federal Government will certainly appeal and it will be referred to the U.S. Supreme Court. When will the Supreme Court decide to hear the case? It’s anybody’s guess, but I wouldn’t hold my breath for it anytime soon.

6 thoughts on “Health care reform act declared unconstitutional

  1. While I completely support Judge Vinson’s decision, I wonder why he failed to issue an injunction to prevent further implementation of the law?

  2. Larry, he addressed that in his decision. Read page 75. He basically says that the fact that he declared the entire act void, that serves as the equivalent of an injunction and therefore declaring one would simply be redundant.

  3. Thanks, 5etester. I missed that in his decision. I updated my post to reflect that and added more thoughts as to why I feel that is a mistake.

  4. No problem. I hope Judge Vinson is prepared for the shellacking he’s about to take from the leftist media along with the death threats sure to follow.

Comments are now closed.