Makes you feel all warm and fuzzy about Ford? Just a reminder that a part of Ford did get bailed out. Their financing arm. Depending upon your point of view, you could say it’s not the same thing as it wasn’t their manufacturing arm like GM and Chrysler, although GMAC was also bailed out. Maybe so, but it’s still Government picking winners and losers in the marketplace. I’m not sure how many people are willing to separate the two. Who’s to say that if the Feds didn’t bail out Ford credit, that would have dragged down Ford overall enough that their manufacturing arm would have also taken the bailout? All speculation, but I don’t know that I would try to draw too much attention to myself if I were Ford as it may shine the spotlight back on themselves as the vast majority of people have no idea that any entity of Ford took any sort of bailout. Here’s a link to the story I posted last year.

2 thoughts on “Was Ford entirely above the bailout fiasco? Depends upon your point of view

Comments are now closed.