The question came from out of the blue. While watching the ballgame, my daughter’s boyfriend hits me with the question greater than the origin of the cosmos. More puzzling than the meaning of life. Yes, that question. Understanding women. Holy impossibility Batman!

So I went with the experience angle. My wife and I have been together for 23 years now. That doesn’t happen without learning a thing or two along the way. Specifically what brought us to this point today was the fact that my daughter’s boyfriend has been trying to work out what my daughter means when she tells him he never listens to her.

Ever heard that one before boys? Yeah, most of us have all been there. He said, “she always says I never really listen to her”. I told him how I learned to look at it. You see, it isn’t that we don’t listen. And don’t ever say the big mistake. Honey, I just didn’t hear everything you said. Wrong answer! Then you will hear, “see, you only hear what you want to hear”.

Truth be told is that men involved in long-term successful marriages have learned that we don’t hear what they say. We hear what they mean. Huge difference. While we may be accused of selective hearing or not paying attention to exactly what they said, we learn to figure out over time what is really behind the words.

It then occurred to me how this describes the democrat party of today. The party of symbolism. The party of idolatry. The party of making policy based upon feelings rather than rationale. The party absent of foundational principles choosing the dynamic whims of society instead. They want you to believe in their good intentions rather than unrealistic reality.

They want you to listen to what they say, not what they mean. They are professional politicians. So are they really like my wife? Of course not, she has a soul. But I still know what she really means when she tells me I don’t really have to get her cards or flowers anymore ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

